Heritage vs Culture and between Love and Trust.

Below is the exact post I have on my Facebook:

After the wedding reception, I went to the after-party at my friend’s (i.e. the groom) place and his family was all there. He’s mixed Berawan and English so can you imagine the crowd?

I got to taste Tuak Berawan-style and it was less lethal than the Tuak Iban. Lol and I even got to dance their traditional Berawan dance a little as a mark of respect. It isn’t that different to Ngajat Iban.

It was nice to be in touch with a heritage that’s similar to mine…celebrated and respected. Didn’t think Miri could surprise me this way.

Brunei, could you?

Hmm…

The solemnization ceremony between Jeff & Lydia that afternoon was emotional and beautiful; what more held on the beach! :) Reception was a bit more systematic, but I guess I’m speaking from a non-relative perspective. The after-party at Jeff’s was great! ;)

But there is that downside about weddings for me. People already finding their additional happiness in someone else who makes them better.

There was a moment that I managed to witness when Jeff cups his wife’s face in his hands after she took a shot of an alcoholic drink that his mum offered her. She doesn’t usually drink so I’m guessing Jeff was saying “well done, love, you did alright :)”. They shared a moment of re-assurance and inter-dependence between each other. Like, awwww. Ha.

What is your favourite wedding moment?

/E

Leave a Reply

