Living in the Moment

I watched The Secret Life of Walter Mitty in the first week of January 2014 with one of my closest friends. Both of us have a lot in common with each other and it was no wonder that throughout that movie, we could relate to the message portrayed. Moreover, it definitely pushed us to be more courageous in everything we do. After the movie, we had some review-sharing session over some CBTL’s coffee at a nearby cafe. We were very excited and enthusiastic about the music the movie had, about the board scene, the little message in the lift (“Mind over Matter”)…we decided, then, that we would go travelling together; backpacking. It’s still all in the planning, but we’ve been talking about travelling together since last year so I hope that we will be able to realize that soon.

It’d be great to go backpacking – experiencing situations that I’ve never been through and then learn from them to open my mind. That’s what I love about traveling to new places – they put me in situations I never thought I’d be in and I’d have to be humble and go through them with courage. So when I’m back in reality/home, I’d have a wider perspective and deeper appreciation for things and people I have in my life.

I find escapism in travel, drinking and laughing with friends, music, reading a novel…we all have our own little ways to escape reality, even for a little while. It is in these escapades that we find out more about ourselves…and know what our purpose is as an individual. And it sometimes feel that the purpose has many variations.

I have a good feeling for 2014… Life is what we make of it – full or empty :)

Cheers to 2014!

Leave a Reply

